Musing At Work

At least here I have a view. Dirt. Piles of dirt, piles of gravel, more piles of dirt. Logs, lampposts and power lines. And buildings, half finished, surrounded by trucks and bulldozers. It’s better than nothing. Better than nothing better than nothing better than nothing better than nothing. My mantra for the day. The expensive machinery clatters and kerchunks impressively in the next room, doing my work for me. God, it’s all so exciting. The dirt outside is wet. It’s raining. The machinery calls me. After a time I can no longer ignore it’s insistent quavering beeps. Even machines need help sometimes. I watch the rain some more. Clatter. Kerchunk. The phone doesn’t ring. A truck comes and dumps a pile of dirt next to the others. More excitement. Better than nothing, I remind myself. Better than nothing better than nothing better than nothing. I take the sandwich out and eat it.

5 thoughts on “Musing At Work

  1. Your answer amuses me, although I found the sandwich to be extremely relevant, which is why it worked so well as a kicker.

  2. Y’all are ruining my sandwich.
    I’ll say this much: It was tasty, it was the kind of sandwich you would have enjoyed eating.
    Nevertheless, it was irrelevant. Extremely. In the way a bad joke is so bad it’s good.
    Have I confused y’all yet?

Leave a Reply

