I Was Fairly Well Contented

In which Pogues song do we find this phrase? Try to find out without using Google, please. It might even force you to listen to The Pogues, which can only do you good.
Oh, you swine, you went and used Google after all, didn’t you. Tsk, tsk.
Hah, well, I tricked you, because I really wanted to direct your attention to the word malcontent. This word is, in fact, not the opposite of contentedness, but no one ever says that anyway.
Tricky little words, there. They make me think of my English teachers, whom I loved.

teacher-145377_1280They hated me, though. I was that little knee-jerk-nerd-bastard in English class who asked if „that was also the definition as found in the Oxford English Dictionary…?“ because I knew exactly that they didn’t know, and I enjoyed putting them at a disadvantage very much. Of course they knew ten times as much as I did about the English language, I didn’t know what the Oxford English Dictionary had to say about it any more than they did, even though I did in fact have said dictionary available to me at home. I even looked in to it now and again.
But, I digress.
Malcontent.

Leave a Reply

