Do We Have a Problem Here?

If you are a persevering reader you may have noticed that I rink. Uhh… drink. You might even think, he drink a might too much: butch: the fact is, I don’t drink nearly enough.
I do not drink enough to destroy my life. I do not drink enough to erase the memory of deeds done. I do not drink enough to quench my thirst, I do not drink enough to make me spell bad even when I have an injured finger. Any bad spelling you may find has been spelled bad in the heat of the moment of typing and not corrected because it is supposed to be that way. Do you think I drink so much that I do not correct my own work? I do not drink enough to make me stop thinking… alright, I admit it, I can, when necessary, when put up to it, when there is no choice, drink enough to make me stop thinking. Exceptions to the rule, and so on. I do not drink enough to make me stop drinking.
The point is… aha. You’ve got me there. Apparently I have drunk enough after all. So, and now, at last, I come to the question: is that a problem? Must there be a point? Must I know what the hell I am doing? Must I know what I am talking about? Must I even know what I am thinking? Do we have a problem here?
I got no problem. You, reader…! You gotta problem? You tryin’ to fuck aroun’ with me here? You… you wanna see the scars on my knuckles up close, motherfucker?!
I thought not. So c’mon, Let’s go to the corner bar in your brain and have some schnapps. Buy me a drink or two and we’ll talk about the old times we’ve never had, or about God, and the world… or whatever. Because, for those of you who haven’t noticed in spite of the clues I’ve given, it is time I let the cat out of the sack: I am fictional. I am a figment of some crazy author’s overheated imagination. So the only place I get to drink is in people’s thoughts: Mr. Hellstrøm, the virtual barfly.
typewriter-109060_640
Perhaps you have an unused room somewhere in that big old brain of yours, with nothing in it except a desk, a chair, a bottle of rum, and an old-fashioned typewriter. Maybe there is a picture on the wall, with dust clinging to the frame, but that is irrelevant. If you would be so kind as to lead me there, once we’ve finished our drinks (just one more, a double, if you please), I could write something for you. Don’t mind the noise of the typewriter, you’ll get used to it. Chapter two.

One thought on “Do We Have a Problem Here?

Leave a Reply

